Happy New Decade

31Dec09

You should really go out and buy She & Him’s CD Volume One. Once you’ve bought it, put it in a good old fashioned CD player (like the huge one I had in my bedroom at the beginning of the decade when I was a freshmen in high school), turn it up loud and make these. That’s how I kicked off the beginning of my New Year’s Eve celebration. I started baking the brownies for a party I’m going to later tonight and decided to throw in the CD John bought me for Christmas. Until now I had only heard it in the car, over the sound of the highway, but in your kitchen when you’re alone except the 11 ounces of chocolate, 2 sticks of butter and 5 eggs that surround you, Zooey Deschanel’s songs and voice make you feel like you’re in your very own little movie. It was a beautiful little New Year’s Eve pre-party for one. I wanted to twirl and sing along, even though I don’t know any words so lip-syncing into my chocolate covered wooden spoon had to do.

In a few hours it will be a new decade. In some places in the world, it’s already a new decade. I don’t think it’s really hit me yet. Ten years ago, I was baby-sitting, watching the ball drop while the kid I was watching was sound asleep. Again, I was in 9th grade. And now I’m 23, married, with one college degree and working on another. In 10 more years I’ll be 33, have a job, a house and maybe even kids if all goes according to my plan, which we all know how dependable plans.Even thinking back over the last year, the year seemed long. Some of the things I’ve done seem so long ago.

This year I started graduate school, moved into a townhouse, started going to  a church, made new friends, got closer to my in-laws, expanded my family by adding a dog (who is currently snoozing soundly beside me), started a blog with my BFF and wrote a novel in a month. I have no New Year’s Resolutions for next year. My only true goal is to finish my Master’s. If I stick to the two-year plan I’m supposed to be graduating next December. With half of it done, I know that the rest is going to be a full time commitment that will consume the entire next year. Of course, I want to continue to try to be the best wife I can, pet owner, daughter, sister, person. I want to save money and start going to the gym more and eat healthier, but the only official goal is that by this time next year I will be able to say I have a Master’s degree in Magazine Editing from the University of Missouri–Columbia.

Hope your New Year’s celebrations are fun and safe, and we at tea@elevensies will see you in the next decade!

No Responses Yet to “Happy New Decade”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

