Favorite Thing Friday

06Nov09

Four years ago, I was standing in a parking lot at night, having a conversation with someone that would change my life. This person I was with had met me on the first day of our college classes, and he would be there for nearly every day between then and graduation.

Four years ago, Mr. Ace, you asked if I would be your girlfriend. We were different people then — younger, more naive, with many, many things to learn. But the only thing that mattered to me that night was the glimpses I had of you as a real, genuine, and good human being. Of course it didn’t hurt that you were always making me laugh, and that you could hold your own in deep discussions of classic literature. And that I looked forward to seeing you more than any other person in the world.

Somewhere around two in the morning, four years ago, I said yes.

And here we are now — a few bouquets of roses, too many movies to count, at least twenty blankets cuddled under, hours upon hours of phone bills, thousands upon thousands of written IMs and facebook posts, miles upon miles of walking around campus, countless laughs and tears, and lots of good food consumed later. Slightly older, perhaps slightly wiser, but still with a great amount of things left to learn, and still trying to grow up with some amount of grace. And still doing this crazy, messy thing called life together, in many ways the younger me had never understood were possible.

I am so grateful for the impact you’ve had on my life, through our many struggles and our many joys. You are the one person who stood by my side through all of college, and is still next to me in these adventures beyond.

This Friday, Mr. Ace, you are my favorite thing. And I love you back.

One Response to “Favorite Thing Friday”

  1. 1 Charlotte's Dad

    Pretty cool Ashley!


Leave a Reply

