Favorite Thing Friday: Community and Krumping

02Oct09

Thursdays are my favorite night of television–Weekend Update Thursday, Parks and Recreation (which is getting better), The Office, Community and soon to start again 30 Rock. This is pretty much the only night of prime time that NBC seems to be getting right (FYI I am a big fan of Conan’s Tonight Show and parts of Jimmy Fallon on Late Night). Definitely by far, my new favorite show I’m watching is Community.

When we switched to satellite, we were devastated to see that we had lost E!, not because we spend so much time watching it, but we lost the one show we did watch on that channel, The Soup, which happened to be one of our favorite shows ever. Thankfully, NBC gave The Soup host Joel McHale his very own show, making my favorite night of television even better.

If you haven’t seen it yet, Community is about Jeff (Joe McHale) a lawyer who has been disbarred because it turns out his undergraduate degree was worthless. He’s back at Community college to get a degree the cheapest, easiest way he can, trying to cheat in any way possible. Along the way he falls into a study group of entertaining characters: Pierce (Chevy Chase), a rich old man trying to stay sharp; Abed (Danny Pudi), the young man who can only express himself through TV and movie quotes; Troy (Donald Glover), the high school hot shot still clinging to his former glory; Shirley (Yvette Nicole Brown), the middle-aged divorcee whose doing this for herself; Annie (Alison Brie), the perfectionist; and Britta (Gillian Jacobs), the idealist who Jeff is trying to win over.

What brought me to this show was McHale’s incredible sense of humor, his brutal honesty and just plain meanness (just listen to his jabs at Ryan Seacrest, which were referenced in last night’s episode), but his chemistry with these other ridiculously entertaining and endearing characters is what makes me blog about it. Let’s be honest, I would keep coming back even if McHale was carrying the show alone, but it’s because he doesn’t have to that makes the show my new favorite.

The bonus of this show: they’ve mastered the end credits clip. When the plot has wrapped and the final commercial starts do NOT change that channel. The end clip is always the cherry on top. Get a taste of what I’m talking about from our two favorite clips posted here: La Biblioteca and Krumping.

6 Responses to “Favorite Thing Friday: Community and Krumping”

  1. The best clips of the office are the first five minutes…best of community are the last five. Love it!! I almost peed my pants laughing at the La Bibloteca rap a few weeks ago.

    • John demanded I find the La Biblioteca rap so he could watch it again and again, which in part inspired this post.

  2. Mondays are my favourite night. CBS has How I Met Your Mother and The Big Bang Theory (which are tons funnier than the NBC offerings – I think I’m just getting tired of the office and whatnot). But I can’t wait till 30 Rock is back.

    Then Travel Channel has Madventures and No Reservations.

    On Thurs. I watch FlashForward (which is looking like it’ll fill in nicely after LOST ends) and Fringe. And then the NBC comedies if I feel up to it. I just can’t get into Parks and Rec tho. I just don’t find it funny. Much like how I don’t laugh at the Office much anymore. Community seems alright but 3 episodes in and I still don’t care yet.

    • Mondays on CBS is our other favorite night of television. We cannot get enough of The Big Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother. Those are two shows where I can’t pick a favorite character because they’re all hilarious.

      We started DVRing Modern Family on ABC. We’ve only watched the pilot so far, but it was painfully awkward and entertaining. We laughed. We’ll keep recording and watching.

  3. 5 mountainsofbooks

    This clip was the best part of the whole episode!


Leave a Reply

