the movies we loved (and missed), and our first giveaway!

30Sep09

We can’t be the only ones, right? You see a preview for a movie that looks amaazing. You think to yourself, I can’t wait to see that one! You note the release date in your head. You immediately forget the release date. Two weeks after the release date, you realize that amaazing movie is in the theaters. You make plans to go next weekend. Something happens that is invariably more important than a movie, and you never make it. And the next thing you know, that amaazing movie is gone, even from the dollar theaters.

Sigh.

But there is hope, friends! And best of all…it’s free hope. I know right. What kind of hope is better?? Char and I have compiled a list of our top movies that we loved pre-sight but failed to actually see…and at the end you’ll find details on a sweet little giveaway to help you see your unviewed favorites!


Char’s Summer (and then some) Picks:


Bride Wars: This movie came out around the same time that I got married, and my best friend and I were both getting married about three weeks a part. It just so happens we were each others’ maids of honor, but we never got around to seeing this movie. I mean we had weddings to plan, weddings to attend, graduating to do, and moving. I think it’s about time.


Frost/Nixon: Ever since I finally read All the President’s Men and saw that movie, I’ve been dying to see this movie. Unfortunately it came out with some of the best movies of the year that just took priority over seeing this one in the theaters.


Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist: It looked funny, sweet and predictable, which is why it will probably be a good movie to simply chill with in my living room.


Away We Go: This one wasn’t my fault. It was only released in select cities, and Jefferson City wasn’t cool enough to be selected. I was really frustrated (similar to how I’m feeling about 500 Days of Summer right now). Some of my favorite people are in it: John Krasinski, Maya Rudolph, Maggie Gyllenhaal, and Jim Gaffigan in a quirky comedy.


Year One: It looks stupid funny, and everyone tells me it was a let down, but I don’t care. I loved the previews. I want to see the rest of it, and I will be probably be grateful I waited to rent it.

Ash’s Artsy and Indie Picks


The Triplets of Belleville: One of my undergrad painting professors would often put on the soundtrack to this movie as background music during class, and I fell in love with the spunky, eclectic, and oh-so-french feel of the music. I can’t wait to see this movie, which is told through caricature-esque animation and this brash soundtrack.


Persepolis: This coming-of-age story of a young girl during the Iranian Revolution is told through flat, two dimensional drawings and black and white shades. This pared down style recalls the look of the graphic novel it’s based on, and it looks absolutely evocative. I became aware of this movie when it was nominated for the Best Animated Feature Academy Award, and have been intrigued by it ever since.


Paris je t’aime: Synopsis in short: 18 vignette-style love stories, set in Paris, told by 21 directors, each about five minutes long. The stories show lovers, friends, parents and children, and strangers set against the backdrop of Paris. And, as one reviewer wrote, if you don’t like one of the stories, they’re only five minutes long! Although most of them look quite genius.


The Visitor: Again, this is a movie which I fell in love with the soundtrack first (it’s absolutely brilliant and hauntingly beautiful. Go use your free iTunes 30 seconds while they’re still around, and give a listen right now!) The movie centers around an older man who finds an immigrant couple squatting in his apartment, and it’s a story of redemption and re-realization of humanity.


Once: This movie needs little introduction after all the hype it received at the Oscars a few years ago. Suffice it to say that I STILL haven’t seen it, and that I can’t WAIT to give it a go.

So now it’s your turn! We’re giving away one free month of Netflix in October — unlimited online viewings, and up to three DVDs at a time, all to help you catch up on those awesome movies you’ve missed. All you have to do is:
– comment with “NETFLIX ME” at the top
– tell us at least one film you can’t wait to see

We’ll select two winners at random on Thursday at 9pm, pacific time…so enter now! We can’t wait to hear your picks.

28 Responses to “the movies we loved (and missed), and our first giveaway!”

  1. I’ve seen *most* of the good ones in this list. Including:
    Paris je t’aime (which we own)
    Nick & Norah (which we own)
    Once (which we own)
    Persepolis (Which we own because Jess loved the books)
    Frost/Nixon – got it on Netflix. It’s awesome.

    Don’t enter me in the contest (I already subscribe to netflix), but we’re waiting to see The Brothers Bloom (in our queue next, actually), New York I Love You is coming out (and looks AMAZING), that new NIck Hornby movie (forget the name). We never got around to Away We Go, mainly because we have to get out to St Louis to see the indie flicks.

    You should also check out Brideshead Revisited (beautiful). And, if you haven’t yet, 500 Days of Summer is my favourite film of the year so far. I just really connected with it.

    • How funny Joel, the Brothers Bloom just came up on my own Netflix recommended list. Since you and Jess look like you have such great taste, I might have to throw it in the queue!

      And I was so excited to find out there’s a New York I Love You! Um, yes please. And while I love me some movies, I rarely go see them in the theater and so I completely missed out on 500 Days of Summer. I KNOW that I will adore it though when it finally comes out on dvd. Can’t wait!!

      • We honestly saw 500 Days of Summer twice in the same week at the same theatre. And we would’ve seen it again if it had done it’s wide release near us. I absolutely love the art on the movie poster though. I’ve gotta get my hands on one.

  2. Movie I’ve wanted to see but haven’t gotten around to: The Reader

    Please watch ONCE it’s so amazing. When you do get the chance to see it please post about it. That movie will move you, change you–it’s so beautiful and the music. Oh the music. I could talk about it for days. Unbelieveable.

    I also would NOT like to be entered because while I have intentions of watching movies my crazy writer/grad student/GTA doesn’t allow me to watch movies. It’s a great idea though.

    • Ah, I forgot about The Reader. Also looked like a really intriguing movie…you know, you can enter and only rent that one movie, hehe. It’s completely up to you, and it would save you the five bucks or so at Blockbuster. And then you could come back and tell us all if it’s a movie that’s worth it…. πŸ™‚

      And I will definitely write back after I get ahold of Once! Hopefully within the next few weeks or so, I’ll find a spot of time for it.

  3. 6 Rob Eng

    Yeah you definitely have to watch Once asap. It’s such an independent and a musical gem. One movie that I cannot wait to see is Shutter Island. I couldn’t have been more bummed out when I read the release date was pushed away from October to February to avoid the Oscar campaign. I read the Dennis Lehane novel and loved it. Plus, with Martin Scorsese directing Leonardo DiCaprio, how could it be bad? (see The Departed, Aviator, Gangs of New York) But that’s next year… so I guess the movie I’m anticipating the most this year would be The Lovely Bones… with James Cameron’s Avatar in a close second place.

    • Totally agree on the Scorsese/Leo combo. The Departed is definitely one of my favs. I’m not normally into scary/thrillers, but the trailer for Shutter Island does look pretty amazing. Might have to give it a go in the middle of the day, with the lights on. πŸ™‚

  4. As a huge Netflix fan, I haven’t missed very many movies I’ve wanted to see.
    Last month I rented Smart People because that was one I never got to see in theaters and I wasn’t that impressed. I love that it wasn’t $9 wasted, only about $1.50 because I pay $9 for the whole month of movies πŸ™‚ The next possible wasted $3 will be Stranger Than Fiction and Twilight. I hate movies that are made from books so I’m sure Twilight will be as hokey as I imagine, but I do kinda wanna see the film version. And I really like Will Farrell so I’m still not sure why I didn’t fork over the $9 to see that one… Maybe since Once seemed to be well-liked, I’ll add that to the queue!

    Looks like I’m the first one who wants this, but NETFLIX ME!
    Why not enter to win a month free of something I already love?

    This was a good way to force some comments/participation…you guys would make good teachers with your crafty tricks! I hated in class when I was forced to participate. Most times I just want to sit back and absorb the info πŸ˜›

    • Awww…I like Smart People, but I like movies like that. Stranger than Fiction is awesome. I had to watch it twice before I felt that way though. The first time I watched it I was just surprised because it wasn’t what I was expecting.

      • Stranger than Fiction is one of my favorite movies EVER. The dialogue sends me into tears every time I watch it. Multiple times through the movie. It’s just that good. Granted, not everyone is going to have that reaction to it, but something about it really just hits me, in the best way possible. I hope you enjoy it, Luciana.

  5. 11 stacey

    NETFLIX ME!

    we were debating between netflix and cable at the new apartment and settled on cable… but i still kinda want netflix, even if it’s just for a month. πŸ™‚

    i also want to see frost/nixon, was told by many coworkers i’d enjoy that. i saw bride wars (with my maid of honor!) and we both enjoyed it. atypical ending, in our opinion. after frost/nixon i’d probably use the netflix to catch up on all the musicals i haven’t seen in a while: oklahoma, seven brides for seven brothers, etc.

    • I’m glad to hear Bride Wars was predictable yet enjoyable. Sometimes I think you just need that.

  6. NETFLIX ME!

    The movies I’m most excited to see are Where the Wild Things Are and Alice in Wonderland. I can hardly wait!

  7. 14 Kimberly

    NETFLIX ME!!!

    I am looking forward to seeing “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”!!!

  8. NETFLIX ME

    Char, Bride Wars was cute…but like most of those movies, predictable. I did like it though. Away We Go – was good (it was showing at The Moxie – and 500 Days of Summer is probably one of my faves right now. I’ve seen it twice and love it! And the soundtrack is awesome!). Nick and Norah’s was, like you said, sweet and predictable. I liked it. πŸ™‚

    Ash, you must see Once…at once! The music is delightful and the movie is great! I’ve been wanting to see Paris je t’aime as well.

    I’m really anxious for Adam to be showing! Of course I’m probably going to cry. πŸ™‚ I still want to see Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind…and Burn After Reading… Now that I’m trying to think of movies, I’ve drawn a blank.

  9. 18 mr. ace

    NETFLIX ME! (please)

    I think the Informant looks like fun. It’s probably way better than 9. That was a bust. But what I do wanna see is Nine. Look it up. I saw a preview for All Saints Day (Boondock Saints Part 2!) and would like to see that. I mean it’s been like ten years since the last one. Incredible Mr. Fox looks like a good trip down memory lane. Plus it’s George Clooney, that guy can do anything. I wanted to see Inglorious Basterds and District 9, but alas, I missed those. And I feel obliged to see 500 Days of Summer. Kind of owe it somebody……….

    Ash, you never saw Once? It’s pretty good. Let’s just say I liked it more than August Rush.

    Well, that’s it!

    • I would greatly encourage you to NOT see The Informant. I almost fell asleep twice. Save your time and money.

      πŸ™‚

    • when did you see Once without me????

      I’m jealous of whoever you owe that viewing to. Hehehehe.

  10. Netflix me, if you don’t mind.

    The movies I’M looking forward to are Beverly Hills Chihuahua, High School Musical 3: Senior Year, and, of course, Tyler Perry’s The Family That Preys.

    • Thank you, Joel, for bringing all the classy movies to this entry that were so woefully absent!! You win. πŸ™‚

  11. 25 Kara "Sky" McGinty

    I want to see “The Visitor” too! I’ve picked it up so many times at the movie rental store only to put it back for some other seemingly more “exciting” movie. Must make myself watch it someday. And “Man On Wire,” which I have been told is amazing. “Handmade Nation” and “Food, Inc.” along with other similar documentaries are on my watch list as well. Can’t think of any others that are out already that I am dying to see…but I am looking forward to a fair amount of movies that will hit theaters in the coming year. “Where the Wild Things Are”, “Toy Story 3”, “The Fantastic Mr. Fox”, and it seems like some more grown-up flicks too. Haha, it looks like I’m a kid!

    I’d be totally game to be Netflixed, but I know I don’t really have the time to watch movies this month… Man, I haven’t even seen any episodes of “The Office”! That must be remedied. Have they been good?! πŸ™‚

    And awesome post and giveaway, ladies! Great idea!

    • 26 Kara "Sky" McGinty

      Oh and I forgot to mention that “Bride Wars” is very entertaining! πŸ˜€ Char, I happily thought of you and Steph the whole time I was watching it! I think you’ll enjoy it.

    • It’s been a great season of The Office so far. You HAVE to watch next week, Kara. Absolutely, must see episode.

  12. Hey guys, we’re closing comments on this now, as the giveaway has been, well given away. Thanks to everyone who participated!!



