Book Review: A Homemade Life

13Aug09

This book was a breeze compared to A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court. I contribute that to how its broken up, basically 2-3 pages and then a recipe–blog form. This is appropriate since this book was written by the creator of Orangette, a popular award-winning foodie blog.

It’s not just the short chapters that makes this book fly. Molly Wizenberg’s writing voice and stories are captivating. I admire her ability to completely lay out her life in her blog and her book. That’s scary to do, but that kind of openness allows us readers to really connect with Molly. Reading her book felt more like having a conversation with her over coffee instead of reading a book on my couch.

The food is a little food snobby for me, but she has definitely inspired me to be more adventurous with my cooking and my life. Oh how I wish my husband loved salad because there are so many incredible sounding salads in this book! I want to try the potato salad, espresso walnut toffee, arugula salad with chocolate and pistachios, and red cabbage salad with lemon and black pepper. There are so many more recipes and more that I want to try. If you need an easy heartfelt read for the end of the summer look into this book.

Next on the summer reading list: The Unlikely Disciple. Only one week left!!!!

5 Responses to “Book Review: A Homemade Life”

  1. 1 stacey

    just finished the Unlikely Disciple and loved it!! especially having attended APU… it was interesting to compare the stark contrast between the two universities. i also enjoyed God’s Harvard, which is mentioned in the Unlikely Disciple… it was at our barnes and noble on the bargain table, and it was quite worth the $5. 🙂

    • I went to SBU (Southwest Baptist University) so I am really excited about The Unlikely Disciple, especially after your comment. I read The Year of Living Biblically and that was really good, too. I’m thinking The Unlikely Disciple will be similarly. I also want to read Churched, a new book I just found about growing up in the church.

      • 3 stacey

        yup, loved the year of living biblically as well! have you read the know it all, aj jacob’s first book? i thought that was good too, although not as spiritually involved as year of living biblically, just fun if you like trivia. just read your review of unlikely disciple and i agree with it all – great post. 🙂

  2. 4 Kendra

    dude…..i really want to read Unlikely Disciple too!! i have heard some pretty good things about it. can’t wait to hear your thoughts….


Leave a Reply

