Dad’s Day

21Jun09
My Daddy: Always goofing around.

My Daddy: Always goofing around.

Since it’s Father’s Day, I’m going to take this opportunity to brag a bit. I have the best dad in the world. The perfect blend of fun, love, and discipline to raise two awesome kids (yours truly and my lil’ bro). When you picture the perfect dad, you’re picturing my dad. He coached my brother’s baseball teams from t-ball to middle school. When I declared I would play little league soccer, my dad, a baseball/football man through and through, checked out all the books in the library on soccer so he could learn enough to coach my little league team. When I told my dad I wanted to be a Marine just like him, he didn’t tell me I couldn’t because he knew that would make me want it more. He let me find out for myself that that wasn’t the path for me. He flew with me from Missouri to California to look at colleges, and made me look at SBU even though I didn’t want to because I think he knew that’s where I belonged (or maybe he just really wanted me there because it was cheaper). He was right. That’s where I belonged. Father really does know best. He even pegged me as a journalist when I was scoffing at the idea in high school.

Daddy's girl from the start.

Daddy's girl from the start.

n177500766_30516870_3476

His voice in my head kept me going during ever 500 meter race and individual medley at my swim meets. He got me my first job. He bought me my first car (which I’m still driving). He got me through college and gave me my dream wedding. He still encourages me to push myself to achieve my dreams. He’s the ultimate straight talker. He was the picture perfect Marine. He showed me how a man should be: in work, in life, in marriage. He taught me how to be tough, independent and the importance of hard work. Through his life, he has shown me that (look out here it gets corny) if you really do work hard and believe in yourself you can achieve your dreams. He gave me my love of the St. Louis Cardinals and Mark Twain. He’s a big part of who I am. I love you Daddy, and I can’t wait to see you for the Fourth of July!

0466

2 Responses to “Dad’s Day”

  1. 1 Kendra

    i don’t know him very well, but what little i do – i adore him. you are blessed!!!

  2. 2 Dad

    You humble me with your glowing words. You and your lil Bro made it very easy to be a Dad. Love you…Dad


Leave a Reply

