the road goes ever on and on.

09Jun09

The last weekend was spent in and around beautiful Monterey. Mr. Ace and I had some good friends get married up there, and what better excuse to take a mini-roadtrip together? Of course no trip to that neck of the woods would be complete without a visit to Fisherman’s Wharf, and subsequently stuffing oneself on fresh clam chowder in a sourdough bowl…om nom nom.


All that remained…

I can’t really explain how much I love the open road. It’s so relaxing to me, and is one of the few things that really opens up my mind. I do some of my best thinking while freeway driving. And it was so incredible to get out of the LA traffic and smog! A person can really breathe.

The open road and I have been getting more familiar as of late. The past month I’ve been living a gypsy lifestyle. I can count on one hand the number of nights I’ve slept in an actual bed. Even when I’m home with the parents, I have very little space that is actually mine. Don’t get me wrong–I have been staying in wonderful homes with people who I love dearly. And I’m just as happy sleeping on a couch as a bed. But the self realization that’s come along with this time is that I’m very much a homebody. I like moving around and having adventures…for a time. But I love the comfort of having a place to call my own. There is kind of resting easy of the spirit that comes from this unlike any other. In this sense, I am indeed very hobbitish.

I don’t know how much longer I’ll be constantly packing and unpacking bags, organizing and destroying said bags, attempting to look presentable at work without typical conveniences…or intruding on other people’s lives, even when they are kind enough to not see it that way. I am fortunate in so many ways, and I’ll try to always keep that in the forefront of my mind during my times of unrest. I wish to cultivate a thankful spirit.

And lastly, of course huge congratulations go to Jeff and Whit. We’re so happy for you two, and hope you are having a memorable and relaxing honeymoon/beginning to your marriage. Cheers!

No Responses Yet to “the road goes ever on and on.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

