a good cause

05Jun09

There are so many worthy causes in this world to champion it’s hard to devote your heart to just one. It’s hard to choose what you will support with action/money and what you will just support with your heart. There’s ending poverty, hunger, genocide or war. There’s saving the animals and stopping global warming. There’s literacy and bringing clean water to the thirsty. There are human rights and fair trade. And then of course, there’s ending disease, but which one? There’s a plethora to choose from: MS, HIV/AIDS, all the many kinds of cancer, diabetes, asthma, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s and other forms of dementia. And then there are the social ills like alcoholism, drug addiction and prostitution. I have my few that are my favorites to bring down or lift up. I do what I can in my own life to make my own life a little greener: buying squiggly light bulbs, buying earth-friendly cleaning products, supporting companies that promise to do their part, paying a little extra for recycled material. I always donate toys to the Marine Corps Toy for Tots every Christmas, and when my clothes are old or I need a fresh start, all of my trash becomes another man’s (or woman’s) treasure at the Salvation Army or Goodwill.

Tonight is my town’s Relay for Life, a fundraiser for the American Cancer Society. It will be my second time participating in a Relay for Life, this time with my workplace, Old Navy. The great thing about working at a branch of GAP, Inc. is whatever our team raises for Relay for Life, the company will match. With GAP, Inc.’s generous contribution our team will be donating $1000 to cancer research to kick cancer’s butt once and for all. I participate because my paternal grandma, my aunt, and my mother-in-law are all breast cancer survivors. We are big “Save the TaTas” people around here. I’m excited that Relay for Life gives me the opportunity to do something to keep other women from going through what they went through or worse.

Reading the book And the Band Played On (which I am almost done with and will have a book review up here soon) has given me another disease I want to see eradicated in my lifetime, HIV/AIDS. I hate saying this because I think all diseases are equally evil in their own right, but I have never read about anything as horrific as full-blown AIDS in the 1980s before there were any drugs to treat it and give a person a fighting chance at a normal life. With AIDS there is no beating into a recession that you may live again. Like MS and Huntington’s Disease you can hold it back for a while, but in the end it gets you. It blows my mind that there is still no cure for this virus. This is my new cause that I choose to support. Go here for information on AIDS walks near you if you want to take up this cause too.

I guess the whole point of this post is not to toot my own horn about the good causes I support (because I realize it may come across that way). There is no horn to toot. I could be doing a lot more for any of them. I just want to encourage you to find a cause your passionate about and pursue it, support it.

One Response to “a good cause”

  1. 1 Kara McG

    Long-time reader, first-time commenter here! đŸ™‚ Love your blog, Char and Ash! The entries always make me smile in some fashion.

    Char, I really enjoyed this specific post! You know I am a sucker for causes… Quite aptly written, I must say.

    I must comment on here more often! Duely noted. Expect more of these.

    Love and Peace!


Leave a Reply

