oh, guacamole

25May09

DSC02456

Oh, Guacamole, you temptress you. Try as I might I could not stop from falling in love with you. I always thought you looked so gross that you could not possibly be tasty, but that was before I met homemade lovely you. My neighbor shared some of her homemade guacamole with us when everyone was out bbqing, and that was the end of me. Sadly, her recipe called for 8, count ’em, 8 avocados and a food processor/blender. I am not making a batch of guacamole so big it takes me 8 avocados and sadly, our blender passed away last Thanksgiving when we tried to puree real pumpkin for real pumpkin pie. She has been missed. I was overjoyed to find this recipe in my Williams- Sonoma Bride and Groom Cookbook for guacamole that takes only 2 avocados and a potato masher, which I do own. This is the perfect portion for a small amount of people, no more than a dinner party of 8, but it can be consumed over a few days by one person if properly refrigerated. It could use some more salt or something, maybe I didn’t mash up the onion and jalapeno enough, but it’s good enough for me!

This picture makes me think of the guacamole as The Blob slowing taking over the chips.

This picture makes me think of the guacamole as The Blob slowing taking over the chips.

Guacamole from Williams-Sonoma Bride and Groom Cookbook

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup finely chopped white onion
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh cilantro, plus 4 sprigs
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 ripe Hass avocados
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lime juice, or to taste–I found this to be about 1 half of a lime if you juiced every last drop from it.

Directions

  1. Use a mortar and pestle or a bowl and fork to mash the onion, chili and chopped cilantro, and a pinch of salt with a grinding motion to form a coarse paste.
  2. Cut the avocados in half, remove their pits, and scoop out the flesh with a spoon. Add to the mixture and mash until well incorporated.
  3. Add salt to taste and lime juice to balance the flavors (The flavors of lime and salt should be prominent, but guacamole should not be too salty or acidic).
  4. Let the mixture stand for a few minutes before serving to allow the flavors to marry. Garnish the gaucamole with the cilantro sprigs and serve.
No Responses Yet to “oh, guacamole”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

