designers love adobe, obviously. part dos.

13May09

Not gonna lie, guys. I’m so excited about this post today!

Backstory time: my art department at APU has some pretty fun traditions, one of which is giving us a blank canvas stole to decorate/artify for graduation. I knew this was coming, so over the last few months I spent a while brainstorming about what I wanted to do. For a while, I only knew that I wanted something encompassing my design major as well as the studio work I’d done (two solo shows, one of luminescent sculptures and one of mixed media paintings). How to make a cohesive work out of this variety? A little difficult.

Eventually, I stumbled upon the idea of using Adobe tool menus as inspiration and the unifying motif. Next, I cycled through media options to produce it (screenprinting? painting? ink? cheap iron-on transfers??) and finally settled on embroidery, as I could then work on it anywhere for any length of time.

stole_pre
Here’s an example of what the stole looked like very early on in the process – mostly blank, with a little pencil and backstitching. Unfortunately, it’s the only in-process picture I remembered to take! Heh.

stole_1
Tada! Here’s a close up of the satin stich used to create the menu titles.

stole_2

The orange and purple side are the Illustrator and InDesign menus, with all the tools being, well, the real things. On the red and green side, Pa=Painting and Lu=Luminescent Sculptures. I simply went through all of the tools I use to create these pieces of art, and iconified them for the stole. For those interested, here’s a list of the Painting and Luminescent toolkits:

Pa = acrylic paint, brush, palette, wood, cutting equipment. deep thinking, books and literature, iPod. liquids (acrylic media, resin, etc), string, organic and natural elements, glass and fiberglass.

Lu = paper, folding actions, hand, scissors, movies. metal wire, wire cutters, needlenose pliers, dowels. sockets, light bulb, electricity, lamp cord.

stole_2

stole_4

Also, I decided that blank canvas was pretty boring, so I used many very thin washes of acrylic paint (so the canvas wouldn’t get too stiff) to stain the fabric. I also really liked the raw, watercolor look of the paint bleeding into the icon squares. I had so much fun working on this final creative project of college, but I almost didn’t get it finished in time! Anyone who has done any sort of stitching before can back me up on this: it takes FOREVER! The day of the ceremony, I was moving out of my apartment and taking breaks to stitch furiously. Thank goodness, I did finish, and this stole has become a relic of my time in college that I will treasure deeply.

For anyone interested in embroidery, this book is an incredible resource. The number of stitches it demonstrates is endless, and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. Brilliant!

No Responses Yet to “designers love adobe, obviously. part dos.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

