Sondre Lerche: Everyday Soundtrack

30Apr09

I am not what you would call a music expert. Actually, I am quite the opposite. I will never be a music reporter or reviewer. It’s not that I have bad taste in music. I think my taste is fine. It is my taste after all. I just have absolutely zero knowledge of how to identify a genre. Sure, I can get the easy ones like country and jazz. Everything else, I could not classify with confidence. I have no idea of what’s the difference between punk, emo, alternative rock, progressive rock and rock n’ roll. I even struggle with the basic differentiation between hip hop/rap/R&B. If any music gurus are reading this, I’ve probably already made a fool of myself to you by claiming that two names for the same genre are in some how different or I’ve offended you by implying that punk, emo and alternative could somehow be confused with each other.

While I may not be able to tell you what genre of music I like (honestly, my taste is pretty varied. mostly whatever is on the today’s best hits station), I can tell you who I like. Right now, my top favorite is The Fray and anyone who Pandora chooses to tell me sounds like them (mostly the Goo Goo Dolls and Foo Fighters), but I cannot remove the Dan in Real Life soundtrack from my car stereo. I cannot get enough of Sondre Lerche, the Norwegian musician who wrote and recorded the score for the movie. The soundtrack is not just a soundtrack for a movie, it’s a soundtrack for life. I can play it when I’m sad, happy, on a sunny day, on a crappy rainy day, on a good rainy day, and it fits. No matter what my mood or situation, Sondre Lerche’s voice, guitar and lyrics just fit. Here’s a video of him performing a song from the album (“To Be Surprised”) on The Late Show with David Letterman:

I also listened to some clips of his new stuff and old stuff on his website, and Dan in Real Life is not a one hit wonder. He is definitely going on my Favorite Music list on my Facebook profile.

2 Responses to “Sondre Lerche: Everyday Soundtrack”

  1. 1 Kendra

    wow….i really like him too! thanks for the plug.

  2. 2 Liz

    He’s great! I like the Dan in Real Life soundtrack, but I unfortunately do not have it. So glad that you mentioned “our station.” It made me happy! I still listen to it all the time at work. Miss you!


Leave a Reply

