cue fanfare

30Apr09

I thought that the occasion of finishing my last college class for EVER and ever* would be a good opportunity to share with you a little somethin-somethin…I’ve been looking forward to posting this, so without further ado:

THE GRADUATION ANNOUNCEMENTS!

announce_1

Holler.

announce_2

Now, obviously these aint your typical order-in-bulk from Jostens deal. A) Those are expensive, B) The deadline to order them was, uh, forever ago, and C) I’m a graphic design major, I should definitely be able to do something cheaper, cooler, and more personalized myself!

So I took a day or two to whip out this design, twice as long to assemble, and had them in the mail and on their way to the relatives in record time!

announce_3

The envelopes above were made by hand, because I didn’t plan early enough to drop by Paper Source before getting these printed. So I designed a die, printed it up, and cut/scored my way to pretty envelopes.

announce_4

The dot patterns on the card outside, the inner card, and the insert were designed and cut using a craft machine and a program hack. I’m playing with the idea of creating lots of cards with custom cut patterns, and this project ended up being a huge learning experience of the machine’s capabilities v. my design expectations. I’m reasonably pleased with the outcome, but originally had in mind more delicate, lacey holes. Ah well, live and learn.

announce_5

For those who are curious, the fonts used in this package are Monterey (the script) and Chalet (the sans-serif). Chalet is one of my current faaaavorite fonts. It’s such a friendly, well-designed beauty, but it’s hilarious too: the weights are New York (bold), London (regular), and Paris (light). Each face additionally has three sets of character variations called 1960, 1970, and 1980. I smile every time I use it.

announce_6

The insert has directions to the graduation on one side, and directions to the graduation party on the flip. I got to hand a few of these out to my relatives in person, and it was so fun to see them flabbergasted over the envelopes and cards. So makes all the effort worth it!

And that, my friends, is my very first attempt at an invitation suite! Pretty simple, not anything earth-shaking with the design, but it was a good chance to learn. Biggest lesson? Leave twice as much time as you think you need. At least. And keep coffee/chocolate/other stimulant close at hand.

*you really shouldn’t ask me how I feel about finishing classes. I’m so confused and happy and distraught. My current form of blues self-medication is TURNING UP the Rolling Stones. And blogging, apparently. šŸ™‚

7 Responses to “cue fanfare”

  1. 1 teaatelevensies

    Char here: I can’t believe you made your own envelopes. I don’t know anyone but you who would even think that was possible.

    • Haha. Well, necessity is the mother of invention, right? I couldn’t send my pretty invites out in crummy envelopes…so I just had to improvise! Yay!

  2. 3 luciana

    Wow! You’re amazing!
    I should have hired you to do my wedding invites and related stationary!

    • Aw, thanks so much! I’m hoping to open up an Etsy shop with cards and custom invites in the next few months…so if you ever need anything else, just ask.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. 5 iamampersand

    Nice announcements!!! I didn’t even bother sending any out…

  4. 6 iamampersand

    How did you do the punches at the top? By hand or with a fancy cutter thing?

    • No wonder though, you had SO much going on your entire last semester…just crazy crazy.

      Those holes were made using the machine described above. Theoretically you could do it by hand…but I sent out 25 or so of these, which would have taken forever.


Leave a Reply

